Bookstore Invites Top Authors for July Showcases

July 12, 2018 2:15 PM0 comments

One More Page Books (2200 N. Westmoreland St., Arlington), is hosting two events this upcoming week as a part of a full slate of talented authors throughout the month of July.

On Thursday, July 12 at 7 p.m.: From the New York Times bestselling authors of “America’s First Daughter” comes “My Dear Hamilton,” the story of Eliza Schuyler Hamilton — a revolutionary woman who, like her new nation, struggled to define herself in the wake of war, betrayal and tragedy.

Co-author Laura Kamoie will be on hand to share from her experience in helping pen this novel, that draws on thousands of letters and original sources to tell Eliza’s story as it’s never been told before — portraying not just a wronged wife, but also a founding mother who shaped an American legacy in her own right.

On Monday, July 16 at 7 p.m.: Historian Paul French (“Midnight in Peking”) will be in conversation with journalist Scott Tong (“A Village with My Name: A Family History of China’s Opening to the World”) about French’s new book “City of Devils: The Two Men Who Ruled the Underworld of Shanghai.”

This event is best suited for readers of Erik Larson, Karen Abbott and other masters of non-fiction, “City of Devils” is a rags-to-riches tale of two self-made men set against a backdrop of crime and vice in the sprawling badlands of 1930s Shanghai.

Comments

comments

Facebook Iconfacebook like buttonTwitter Icontwitter follow buttonGoogle+Google+